Counting calories is triggering

Counting calories has been triggering for me. I’ve suffered from disordered eating my entire life and so, having to count what I’m putting in my body has set off an alarm in me. I have used apps like myfitnesspal and mynetdiary mindfully through the years. When I feel like I’m paying too much attention to calories and restricting my cravings because of it, I back away.

While tracking my fat, carb and sugar intake for keto, I am having to be hyper-aware of my diet. I’m having to remind myself that it’s not about the calories but rather, about finding the right balance for my body. At least for the first few weeks, I will need to stay on top of minimizing the disordered chatter in my brain. I’ve been in a healthy place over the past few years with my eating, but this has reminded me that our body-mind connection is a delicate one. It’s empowering to recognize and talk through it. Hey, it’s a real thing but it’s okay. Breath – Share – Continue.

Today has been difficult. I’m really tired and my headache isn’t giving up. I know that if I just had an iced tea, it would probably go away. I won’t though. I’ve made a commitment to myself and I’m staying on it.

Day 6: Carbs today are at 26 grams/ 130 grams for fat. Sugar is a 11 grams.
I am no master of the percentages, but hopefully, it’ll get easier.

Leave a Reply

